Tomoe, 2 days old

My holiday is coming to an end soon, and I only had today and tomorrow left to visit before going back to work.  Well, as I was in bed this morning, I got a nice picture to wake up to.

She opened her eyes this morning for my wife.

I got up and went out to get my haircut.  Then I headed to the clinic for more visiting.  As soon as I arrived, I was greeted by my wife, and we went and watched Tomoe.  Again, she was sleeping.

This was my first look at her today. Sleeping peacefully, as usual.

Today was the day that Tomoe attempted to breastfeed for the first time.  Unfortunately, when she tried, she wasn’t very hungry, so didn’t open her mouth enough.  They were going to try again later during the day.

My wife’s IV was removed today, as she could finally start eating food again.  She’s up and walking quite a bit now, and she seems to be energetic.  The doctor said she’s healing quite well, so she’ll be moving to a shared room tomorrow.  After visiting for a while, we went back to see Tomoe.  A nurse was in the nursery, and she decided to show us Tomoe’s hands and feet.  We were given a big surprise at the end.  I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

The nurse held her up for us. Tomoe slept the entire time.

Then the nurse showed us her legs. My wife has a matching pink tag.

The nurse turned her bed for us to get a good look.

Then we were shown her hands. They were curled up into fists.

It looked like she was getting ready to do something. I wonder what.

Oh, there it is! Is that a smile? Probably not a true smile, but a great picture!

My wife had dinner after that, while I went home.  The great thing is that she’s now having dinner in the dining room.  She’s recovering quickly!

Well, tomorrow’s my last day off.  I’m looking forward to seeing Tomoe!

3 thoughts on “Tomoe, 2 days old

  1. Oh, don’t give up on the breastfeeding! It can be a tough learning curve, but SO very worth it in the end!

    PS: you’re making me want to have another baby. I’m not sure if I like that!

Leave a Reply

