RIP Biscuit

I’m very sad to announce that our dog, Biscuit, has died.

Over the past week, he had been getting weaker, and was unable to stand starting on Thursday.  On Friday, he recovered a bit, and could walk around for part of the day, enough that I could take him outside for the last time.  After that, he never walked again.  He gradually lost strength and had difficulty getting to his food and water by Sunday.  Yesterday, he cried a lot, and although he could still get to his food and water, he didn’t stop crying.  This morning, he was very weak.  He didn’t lift his head at all.  When my wife checked on him at 8pm, he seemed to have enough energy to try bite her.  However, between 8pm and the time I got home at 10pm, he had died in his sleep.  When I got home, I went over to him to pet him while he slept, but found him to be rigid and not breathing.  We don’t know how old he was, maybe 17 or 18 years old.  He died of old age.

His cremation will take place on Thursday.

We will miss you, old boy.  Love you very much.

Biscuit. ? to February 19, 2013.

Biscuit. ? to February 19, 2013.

11 thoughts on “RIP Biscuit

  1. He had a long life and was loved. Not much more a dog can ask for, so sad to hear he passed but at least he isn’t in pain now. My thoughts go out to you and your wife, it’s hard losing a long time pet.

    • Thanks. He was actually a dog that my wife rescued. He was a stray that she found and the vet said he was about 10 years old at the time. My wife had him for 8 years. I’ve only lived with him for 2 years, but it’s still difficult.

  2. This resonates with me because our (at parents) cat lived for at least 22 years. Quite amazing considering they lived by a busy street. We had her when she was a few months old and I am sure she outlived her kittens. Goldie’s final days were pretty much the same as biscuit’s the only difference being – my sister without informing me – taking her to the vet to be put down – ANRAKUSHI. It ended the suffering of those final days but she enjoyed a long and lovely life. We have wonderful memories I am sure you will also. Ian

    • Thanks for the comment. Yeah, I often think about things we did together, although he was already quite old when I first met him. I enjoyed taking him outside for short walks. It’s something I wish I could do just one more time.

  3. My heart aches for you, Akiko and Tommy. Biscuit had a good life and will remember you with love as he chases rabbits in the afterlife.

  4. Pingback: 31 Things No One Tells You About Becoming a Parent | Foreign Dad in Japan

Leave a Reply

