She’s full of surprises today

Tomoe has caught a cold.  This morning, she woke up with a 38.5 degree fever, and it’s gone down just a bit to 38.2.

We went to Yamato today to visit a clinic and have Tomoe checked out by a doctor.  That clinic is also an alternative day care for when she’s sick, but only on weekdays.  If she’s sick on the weekend, we need a babysitter.  She got some medicine, including one that should help her fever.  If she has no fever tomorrow, she can go to her regular nursery.  The medicine also makes her incredibly drowsy.  She fell asleep very quickly.

In addition to going to the clinic, we visited Yamato Park, which is near Yamato Station.  Tomoe walked around the park a lot, including pushing her stroller and trying some steps.  Well, she sure gave us a surprise.  This was surprise number one for the day.  She climbed the steps by her self!  She didn’t need any help going up, but she still can’t go down.

She loves pushing her stroller around.

She loves pushing her stroller around.

Let's try the stairs!

Let’s try the stairs!

I can do it all by myself!

I can do it all by myself!

But I need help going down the steps.  I don't want to go down, I want to go up!

But I need help going down the steps. I don’t want to go down, I want to go up!

This wasn’t the only surprise.  After we arrived home, she walked around the living room and went for her big bottle of tea.  It has a straw in it, but the cover was closed.  She picked it up and gave it to me.  She wanted a drink, so I opened it for her, and she took a drink.  It surprised me a lot.  She’s beginning to figure out things like that.

The third surprise happened only a few minutes later.  Her formula bottle was on the floor, and she found the cap for it.  She picked it up and went over to her bottle, then put the cap on the bottle.  She knew where it went.  She’d never done this before.  She’s understanding how things fit together, how to get what she wants, and more.  To top it all off, she’s been pointing at things that she wants.  Yesterday, she kept pointing at some plants.  She just wanted to touch them.  She was so happy when she touched them.

Even though Tomoe is sick, she still seems to have a lot of energy.  She’s actually been in a very good mood today.  I just hope she gets over her cold soon.

Leave a Reply

